Korean Beef Stir-Fry

When it comes to my culinary endeavors, I prefer to utilize recipes and cooking methods that require little to no effort on my part.  This is one of them!


Already a loyal fan of everything stir-fry, I originally fell in love with Korean Beef after a coworker of mine made Korean Bulgogi for me this past Spring.  One bite in, and I was in heaven!  A few months passed with me raving on and on about how wonderful this dish was, but it wasn’t until this past June that I finally decided to take a stab at it myself.  My first stop, as always, was Pinterest.com.

Korean Bulgogi. (Photo Credit: http://sydneylanguagesolutions.com.au)

As usual, Pinterest delivered thousands upon thousands of variations of this delectable dish, but one post that I seemed to keep gravitating towards was Korean Beef and Rice by Camille from SixSistersStuff.com.  Naturally, I had to change a couple elements here to satisfy my own personal preferences, so if you are the type of person who prefers to follow a recipe “to the T,” then please follow the link to Six Sisters Stuff above.  Otherwise, feel free to follow along below!

My Ingredients (Yes, I shop at Trader Joes a lot!)

Ingredients:

1 lb lean skirt steak (Substitute ground beef, bison, or whatever else. This is very versatile!)
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup soy sauce
2 Tablespoons sesame oil (1 tbsp for frying steak, 1 tbsp for sauce)
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger or Chinese 5 Spice
1/2 – 1 teaspoon crushed red peppers, or to taste
salt and pepper
1 bunch green onions, diced (Optional; turns out fantastic even without them!)
Rice or Couscous, cooked to package directions

 

Everyone getting to know each other....

Everyone getting to know each other….

 Directions:

Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat and brown skirt steak with garlic in the sesame oil. Drain most of the fat and mixture of add brown sugar, soy sauce, ginger/5 spice, salt and pepper and red peppers. Simmer for a few minutes to blend the flavors. Serve over steamed rice or couscous and top with green onions.


And there you have it!  A quick and rewarding dinner that truly accommodates even the lowest level of cooking skill, while yielding maximum reward!  He’s a quick look at what my final product looked like:

The end result!

The end result!

Please give this a try!  Tweak the recipe to your liking, and feel free to share how it went for you!

Until next time,

~Mjlove29~

 

 

Leave a Reply

