Slow-Cooker BBQ Spare Ribs

My New Bella Slow-Cooker

My New Bella Slow-Cooker!

 Hey all!  After quite a bit of research, I am proud to announce that I have finally purchased my first slow cooker!  I know it probably doesn’t sound like the most exciting thing you’ve heard today, but it has been a personal goal of mine for a while; it is simply one of those things that I have always associated with being “grown up.”  However, along with the pleasantly warm sensation of feeling validated as a woman, I have also been filled with a bit of both curiosity and fear as I navigate the web in search of the best Paleo-like recipes to try out.


  My objective is to have a freezer full of prepped meals that I can simply drop into the slow-cooker and go about my day.  So far, I have already gone shopping for the basic food items that I figured I would need, like Chuck Roast, Chicken, and Pork Shoulder.  Still, I am on the lookout for a more comprehensive shopping list that I can use as a guide when I venture out to the grocery store.

    Nevertheless, my limited experience has not stopped me from firing up at least one quick meal with my new slow-cooker.  Last night, I came across a recipe for Barbecue Spare Ribs on SixSisterStuff.com.  After reading over it a couple of times, I decided to give it a try.  To my surprise, the prep for this meal was so quick I could have sworn I was doing something wrong, but I guess that’s what happens when you are literally throwing things into a pot and then walking away!  I must say, I was more than happy to go about my day ad lib, instead of burning daylight while standing over the stove, waiting for my meal to be completed.  I walked the dog, went out to dinner with a friend- it was a truly liberating experience!

Slow-Cooker BBQ Pork Ribs

Slow-Cooker BBQ Pork Ribs, cooking away!

  By the time these were finally done, I could hardly wait to get them out of the pot.  They were beautiful, and the ribs were falling off the bone and melt-in-your-mouth good.  I think the next time I do ribs, I will try a few different variations of this recipe and see what comes of that, but I am overall very happy with the results of my first slow-cooker meal!  And so, without any further a due, here is the recipe I followed (you can also follow the link above to visit the original website:)

Ingredients:

1-2 lbs of country-style pork ribs
1 1/2 cups ketchup
1 1/2 Tablespoons Old Bay Seasoning (or seasoned salt)
1/2 teaspoon liquid smoke
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup white vinegar

Directions:

  Place pork in resealable gallon-sized freezer bag. Mix remaining ingredients together in a bowl and pour over pork. Mix together in bag and zip closed.  When ready to eat, remove from freezer and thaw in fridge for 24 hours.  Cook on HIGH for 3-4 hours or LOW for 6-7 hours.

Note: I cooked my ribs for 7 hours and 30 minutes.  The instructions with my slow-cooker recommended 7 to 8 hours, so I figured that 7 hours and 30 minutes was a good halfway point between the recipe and the handbook.  

  Please feel free to give this one a try, and if you happen to have any favorites of your own, please do share!  And before I forget, I purchased my Bella Programmable Slow-Cooker from Amazon.com, so if you are interested in reading reviews or purchasing one as well, please click here. I hope to continue to update you all on my culinary adventures as time goes on.

Until next time,

Mj ❤

Leave a Reply

