A Photographer Took 12 Stunning Pictures To Capture How Depression And Anxiety Can Feel.

Live or Die“I’m afraid to live and I’m afraid to die.  What a way to exist.”

(Photo and caption by Katie Crawford.)

Morning everyone!

I think the most difficult part of finding my way during my battle with suicidal depression has been trying to explain how I feel.  I believe that, in a way, there really is not a word that adequately describes the anguish that you feel when you’re being destroyed from the inside out by an intangible force.  The attached article illustrates some of the emotions that one can feel when experiencing depression and anxiety.  I have found that using resources like this article has helped me to articulate my feelings and emotions more effectively when conveying them to the ones I love.  Hopefully, it will do the same for you, or at least help you to better understand what your loved one is going through.

Read More: http://www.upworthy.com/a-photographer-took-12-stunning-pictures-to-capture-how-depression-and-anxiety-can-feel?c=ufb1

Written With Love,

Mj ❤

8 thoughts on “A Photographer Took 12 Stunning Pictures To Capture How Depression And Anxiety Can Feel.

  1. Excellent photos. It isn’t just depression and anxiety you can’t explain to people. Some people don’t have the ability to feel compassion about any emotion they don’t want to deal with. They can’t see how their inability to see who you are, because you don’t fit into the nice little box they want to put you into, destroys any possibility of a relationship.

    Liked by 2 people

    • So true! Unfortunately, I have had to learn to love some people from afar, or distance myself from them entirely, for that very reason. Such a shame, really, but in the end you still have to do what is best for you and your health and well-being.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I do agree. My mother keeps trying to make excuses for my family and tells me they love me when by their actions it is really only my mother’s wishful thinking, putting the words into their heads she thinks they should be thinking. All it does is continue to rip of scabs of deep wounds and I’m tired of letting it hurt me. The pain isn’t even under my skin. it’s in my hair follicles. I get more upset with myself for letting it bother me so much but it is hard to think that people you thought loved you can also be so cruel. I tell my mother I have to let them go and she just says, “For now. I won’t believe it can’t be fixed” I never thought of myself who suffered from depression or anxiety, but this showed me there are somethings you can’t control. I lose control over it, so sometimes you have to purge yourself of trying anymore. It has the potential of ruining entire days and I’m tired of it. I can’t think about it without feeling the tears come so I better end this while I still have a chance.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I just want you to know that you are not alone. Unfortunately, we cannot choose our family, and we cannot please everyone. That in and of itself is a lesson that I have had to learn the hard way, time and time again. Whatever the circumstances, sometimes in life you have to make the hard decision as to whether or not you will allow those who add nothing but negativity to your life to stay a part of your life. If it comes to a point where certain family members are infringing upon your happiness, as it seems to be from what I’ve read, then perhaps it is time to distance yourself for a while and take some time for yourself. I will say it again: you cannot please everyone. Your mother may not understand your decision, or agree with it either, but she has to respect the fact that you are putting your mental and physical well-being at the forefront. At the end of the day, you are the one who has to live with the thoughts in your mind and the desires of your heart. Give yourself some time to heal, and when you feel you are ready, re-evaluate whether trying to pursue relationships with those family members is something that will be beneficial to you. I also recommend finding someone who is objective that you can confide in, like a close friend or a therapist. I will tell you from personal experience that blowing off some steam with friends can be a great way to cope and clear your head, but there is a certain degree of healing that comes from being able to really talk out the history of YOU and lay everything out on the table with someone who is an unbiased third party. You can really start to connect the dots between certain events, people and emotions, and it has helped me to finally accept the things and people that I cannot change and move on with my life, with or without them. I wish you the best of luck, and you will be in my thoughts. Feel free to PM me anytime if you want to talk, or just need to vent a little 🙂

        Truly,
        Mj ❤

        Like

Leave a Reply

