Rustic Tuscan-Style Sausage, White Bean, and Kale Soup

Soup

As someone who is relatively new to make soups, I cannot claim to have a ton of experience or prowess when making them, but I am pretty darn good at eating them!  With Spring in full force and Summer right around the corner, I am really trying to find soup recipes that are still simple enough to make for a novice like myself, but also deliver when it comes to multifaceted flavor.  This little gem, does not disappoint!

    This one-pot-wonder takes about one and a half hours total, but don’t let that scare you- I spent about forty-five minutes of that time letting this beauty simmer away while I finished watching Season two of Vikings!  I must say, my favorite part of making this meal was that I only had to wash one pot when it was all said and done.  While I did not go out of my way to prepare the baguette to pair with the soup, I do believe that it would complement this meal well.  Even without it, this one earned its way into my heart and my favorites with the very first bite.  And so, without any further a due, here is the recipe for eternal happiness (or something like that:)

Rustic Tuscan-Style Sausage, White Bean, and Kale Soup
Serves 6 to 8 humans ;D

Serves 6 to 8 humans ;D

Ingredients:
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 pound Italian sweet sausage, casing removed (I used chicken sausage- it turned out great)
  • 1 medium onion, finely chopped
  • 2 large carrots, finely diced
  • 1 large potato, finely diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 (15 ounce)cans white cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 bunches kale, stems removed and roughly chopped
  • 52 oz. good quality low-sodium chicken stock
  • Kosher Salt and Freshly Ground Black Pepper, to taste
  • 1 loaf baguette bread
  • Gruyere and Asiago Cheese, shredded
Instructions:
Brown sausage,add veggies, cook down for ten minutes....

Brown sausage,add veggies, cook down for ten minutes….

  1. In a large pot, heat 2 tablespoons olive oil over medium heat. Add sausage and brown, stirring occasionally to break into smaller pieces, about 10 minutes.
  2. Add onion, carrots, potato, and bay leaves. Season generously with kosher salt and cook until vegetables begin to soften, stirring occasionally, about 10 minutes. Add garlic and beans, and cook for another 2-3 minutes. Add kale, and cook until it becomes slightly wilted. Add chicken stock, season with salt and pepper, and cover with lid.

    ....toss in the Kale...

    ….toss in the Kale…

  3. Bring soup to a boil, then reduce heat and keep at a simmer for about 45 minutes, although a bit longer is completely fine. The soup will thicken as the potatoes begin to release their starch into the soup.
  4. The soup tastes best the second day. If time allows, cool soup completely, and refrigerate it for the following day. Reheat before serving.
  5. When about ready to serve, slice baguette. Drizzle each slice with a little olive oil and season with kosher salt. Bake at 350 degrees for about 5 minutes, until toasted. Top with grated Gruyere and Asiago cheese and broil for about 2-3 minutes, until the cheese has melted. It can go from melted to burnt pretty fast, so don’t leave broiler unattended.
  6. Divide soup among bowls and top with a few slices of cheesy baguette, and go to town!
    Eat the soup!

    Eat the soup! (Photo Credit: SharedAppetite.com)

    I hope you all enjoy making and eating this meal as much as myself and my family did!  I still have a few more posts sitting in my “drafts” folder, longing to be shared with the world, but my summer semester begins today, so my already snail-like pace of posting updates is sure to lag a bit more.  However, I do still log on pretty often to check out other blogs and I love hearing back from you all, so feel free to keep in touch with me or pester me to release un-posted blogs in the near future!

Stay hungry, my friends!

Mj ❤

Leave a Reply

