Empathy.

So a County Sheriff just stalked Ralph and I for almost half of our walk before finally getting out of his car and asking to pet him.  I’m not going to lie, I thought it was pretty cute!

Little did I know that the Officer had just put down his 13 year old beagle last week.

His heartache was palpable and I’m sure that spending some time with my little guy helped him in some way, but little did he know, for I needed that interaction as well.

I feel that sometimes doing what we do for a living really disables our ability to be genuinely empathetic, and we can lose touch with the human inside of us all.  But today, just being able to do something small and unexpected for a random stranger (and a LEO, no less) really pulled at my heart strings and reminded me of what it feels like to let the wall down and “love my brother. “

I’m getting ready to step into another 25 years of life, in a couple weeks.  I don’t believe in making resolutions, because I don’t like making promises that I can’t keep.  But I will strive to be kinder and more loving towards others, because so many people have done the same for me, even when I wasn’t worthy of their good will.  Anyway, that’s my goal.  I really didn’t intend on writing anything today but I had to get this off of my chest. Thanks for listening!

Truly,

Mj ♡

One thought on “Empathy.

  1. That’s a great story. It seems like animals have a way of softening people (most of the time) and I can almost put myself in the sheriff’s position. Maybe that was part of his grieving process, and you were at the right spot at the right time, for him and for you. And for the dog, of course! Beagles rule.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

